jump to navigation

On “New Shoes” and “Rehab” March 9, 2007

Posted by drowmage in Music, Music Videos, Random Thoughts, YouTube.
trackback

In case you were wondering, no, I didn’t get new shoes, and neither was I in rehab. I’m talking about music today.
I was sitting in the car yesterday, going through my shopping list before picking up some groceries, when I heard a darn catchy tune on the radio (I forget which station). Did a little Googling – and found the singer of the song, and darn me if he doesn’t look cute, although a little stoned. The singer is Paolo Nutini, and the song – “New Shoes”:


(you might want to turn up the volume, the sound isn’t good in this video)

So who is this Paolo Nutini? He’s a Scottish 20 year old singer, whom U.S. Rolling Stone named one of the “10 Artists To Watch 2006.” Check out his website for more info.

I also found out he did a cover version of Amy Winehouse‘s “Rehab”. I couldn’t find a music video of the cover version by Nutini on the web, but the nearest is a slide version. (Click on the link to check it out on YouTube).

So I’ll leave you with Amy Winehouse’s “Rehab”, the live version instead of the music video, because she actually sounds better live (or maybe as rumours say, better when she’s high?). It’s the blues weekend baby!


Notice these singers really don’t sound like they look – they’ve got this sort of deep, unique voice? Although Amy Winehouse does remind me of Fran Drescher (both vocally and visually):

Or maybe a really stoned, heavily painted version of Drescher….

“….they tried to make me go to rehab… but I said no.. no.. no…” 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

