jump to navigation

REAL Singers don’t need American Idol… March 2, 2007

Posted by drowmage in Drowmage's Philosophy, Music, Music Videos, YouTube.
trackback

“American Idol” has degenerated into a popularity contest – ever since the year Carrie Underwood actually won. I don’t even want to watch it anymore.

I did some free-surfing in YouTube and found this gem of a song, sung by a beautiful voice belonging to Katie Melua. Never heard of her, but I was enchanted by the song, and mesmerized by the music video… the concept of ‘face-off’ is tastefully done here..

The song is called “I Cried For You”

Check out her website : Katie Melua

See, real singers don’t need American Idol to know they’re good; they just are good.

Hurrah to Jennifer Hudson for winning the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress! I watched”Dreamgirls” and it was obvious she owned the whole movie – Beyonce (who’s become more of an entertainer, not a singer lately – I miss Destiny’s Child) was definitely on the poster to lend some ‘star-power’. Beyonce fans – don’t throw something at me just yet! and go watch “Dreamgirls”, and listen out for the song “And I Am Telling You I’m Not Going”. Jennifer Holliday owned that song on Broadway; and now Hudson owns it on the silver screen.

Comments»

1. Alvin - March 2, 2007

Nowadays, I watch American Idol to have a laugh. 😛 The finals…well, if I have time, i’ll watch. I feel that there are a lot of better singers out there. 😀

2. drowmage - March 9, 2007

Alvin : I have to admit the fun part about American Idol would be the auditions…. it’s so wrong, yet it’s funny.


Leave a Reply

