jump to navigation

Thaipusam Pictures – 1st Feb 2007 February 1, 2007

Posted by drowmage in Events, Photos.
trackback

Every Thaipusam, I visit the temple to pray. This is something my family (with the exception of one Christian brother) does every year. This year, my brother and I decided to stay back in Kuala Lumpur, instead of taking a trip back to Penang, and go to Batu Caves for Thaipusam instead. It would be my first time visiting the site (yes, I’m a useless Malaysian for never bothering to visit this place before, I know).

Here are some pics I took as we walked the looooong road from the car to the temple steps.

This bearer was already in a trance, carrying the kavadi :
Kavadi Bearer in Trance

This looks like a nice design, notice the star-shape:Kavadi Bearer Number 2

Lotus-themed kavadi… :

Lotus-themed Kavadi

A woman carrying a heavy jug of milk as part of her vow:

Woman With Milk Jug

This kavadi bearer is dancing – hard to tell in the photo though:

Kavadi Bearer Dancing

Imagine the amount of hooks on this guy! And there are people pulling on them behind him!

Ouch...

I quite like this peacock-feathered design on this kavadi :

Peacock-Feather Themed Kavadi

The golden statue of Lord Murugan welcomes the devotees:

Lord Murugan Statue

The kavadis on the way up the steps into the caves :

Kavadis heading for the Caves

A view of the devotees climbing the steps:

Devotees climbing the steps

All 272 steps up to the caves:

Crowd

You have to respect this kid for starting his vows young:

Young bearer

Next year, though, I think I’ll go back to Penang to pray during Thaipusam. It seems lonelier and more alien in this concrete city of Kuala Lumpur.

Comments»

1. Jasdev - February 7, 2007

HOW ON EARTH DID U EVEN MAKE IT THERE. I frackin hate travelling in kl with all the jams and one miss of a turn would take u to another corner of the goddamn galaxy. Besides the prospects of 1.5 million machas and the traffic just makes me happy I get to read newspapers ehehehhee. nice shot of the golden statue.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

