jump to navigation

Scraping the Ground as a Writer January 30, 2007

Posted by drowmage in Drowmage's rants.
trackback

It sucks. It really does. Especially when you’ve thrown caution to the wind, declared that you’re leaving the oppressive politically-driven corporate world and decided to be a freelance writer, only to find yourself into the second month, scraping the bottom of your pocket to make sure you pay the bills.

I find that being a writer is not easy. Oh yeah, I love to write. I can sit on MSN and yak away all day,  I can sit down and rant easy on a blog.

But dedication to a topic? Wow.

And it’s something I’ve learnt in these past two months. Yes, it was nice to wake up at any time of the day, sleep anytime I want, relax around the house and still sit down and make money from writing.

But I’ve come to understand that it’s still a job, no matter what. Passion is great, but dedication reaps its rewards. Especially cold, hard cash.

I’m just like the average Joe out there, trying to make a living doing something I love.

So there… back to work now for me… and the deadlines. Hopefully, I’ll embrace it with more conviction.

Scraping the Ground...

Drowmage rants : Stupid, stupid flu. Die, you miserable, measly germs that threaten to destroy my week.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

