jump to navigation

We Should Never Stop Learning In Life January 29, 2007

Posted by drowmage in Drowmage's Philosophy.
trackback

I believe no one can sit back and say that they know EVERYTHING in this universe. It’s humanly impossible. There’s just so much to learn, and you never stop learning as you grow older, experience life and its ups and downs.

I’ve always tried to uphold the best values in my writing, and that includes NOT: plagiarising articles, blatantly copying stuff from other people yet taking credit for it, and also making sure I know what I’m writing about by making extensive research about it. If I’m going to write about a movie that talks about free-diving, I make sure I find out more about it. If I’m going to write about an actor who loves bungee-jumping, I have to make sure I know everything there is to know about that actor, and the damn sport.

Somehow, pure research has been lost over the years, by people who call themselves ‘experts’. These people claim to know everything about something, and yet, when you ask them a direct question about the fundamentals of that particular topic, they stagger and stammer.

I never profess to be an expert in anything, and always admit that I’m still learning. It’s good to learn, especially about new things, ideas, philosophy or just ways to make life more fun. I love to write, but I’m not the best writer out there and have never professes to be one. I love to cook, but have never said I’m the best cook around – I love cooking because it makes me happy. That’s good enough – but I never stop learning new recipes, new ideas, new styles.

So if you think you know everything, take a step back, and ask yourself this “Do I really?” Because, you never know what else you’re going to encounter on this journey of lessons.

The Drowmage is being a little philosophical, especially after catching a movie from Thailand called “The Tin Mine”. A movie review on that should be up here one of these days.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

